header photo

About Us

The Essex Art Association, housed in a historic Essex building, has served the Shoreline area as a nonprofit seasonal art gallery since 1946. We were the first local art association to embrace all styles of art, from the traditional to the cutting edge. The excellence and variety of our shows have made the EAA an outstanding exhibition venue showcasing quality art at reasonable prices.

Several shows during our season offer opportunities for artists and art lovers alike. Our opening show, the Valley Regional High School Student Show, highlights the exciting and refreshing work of young artists. Throughout the season three regular show categories are offered to artists: Juried, Open, and Elected Artist. The open shows and Elected Artist show are judged for awards, and all entries are hung if space permits. Juried shows are limited to 80 works chosen by the juror from over 200 entries. In addition to these shows, several Exit Gallery solo shows highlight some of the most interesting and accomplished artists who were show winners during the previous year.

The gallery season is extended by rentals offered to members for their own shows, and other venues provide additional opportunities for exhibitions. Exhibits are held throughout the year at the Essex Corinthian Yacht Club.

We welcome you to be a part of this vital and growing community art organization. Open the purple door to our beautiful bright yellow historic building to exhibit your work, view the shows, or purchase a piece of original artwork. Volunteer opportunities allow art lovers and artists to join in the ongoing life of our gallery. Your membership, participation and donations are essential to the achievement of our mission to promote art appreciation and artists’ recognition in the communities that we serve.

For detailed information about the upcoming year’s schedule, please consult the Exhibition page of our website.

Elected Council for 2019/20
Pam Carlson, President
Jerry Reed, Vice President
Susan Malan, Treasurer
Peggy Price, Secretary
Kay Brigante, Member

Rachel Carlson, Member
Elin Dolle, Member
Ellen Gaube, Member
Chip Rutan (Past President), Member

Melanie Carr, Administrative Director